InCommon is operated by Internet2


About            Participants            Join InCommon


Join InCommon

InCommon Participants

InCommon Email Lists

Internet2 Industry Program - Trust and Identity Solution Providers

InCommon Basics

InCommon Policies and Practices

Changing the InCommon Exec, Site Admin, RAO

IAM Online Webinar Series

About InCommon

Contact InCommon

About InCommon

The mission of InCommon is to create and support a common trust framework for U.S. education and research. This includes trustworthy shared management of access to on-line resources in support of education and research in the United States. To achieve its mission, InCommon will facilitate development of a community-based common trust fabric sufficient to enable participants to make appropriate decisions about the release of identity information and the control of access to protected online resources. InCommon is intended to enable production-level end-user access to a wide variety of protected resources.

InCommon Governance

InCommon Steering Committee

The InCommon Steering Committee is responsible for managing the business and affairs of InCommon, including oversight and recommendations on issues arising from the operation and management of InCommon. Policies and practices approved by the Steering Committee are available on the Policies page. We also have a list of current and past Steering members.

Steering Members


Term Ends
December Of:

Klara Jelinkova, Rice University 2013 2018
Brett Coryell, Northern Illinois University 2016 2018
Dennis Cromwell, Indiana University 2014 2016
Michael Gettes, Penn State 2013 2018
Ted Hanss, University of Michigan 2016 2018
Susan Kelley, Yale University 2014 2016
Michele Norin, Rutgers University 2015 2017
Sean Reynolds, Northwestern University 2015 2017
Celeste Schwartz, Montgomery County Community College 2016 2018
Pankaj Shah, Texas LEARN 2015 2017
Dave Vernon, Cornell University 2014 2016
Ann West, Internet2 2016 --
Melissa Woo, Stony Brook University 2014 2016
Steve Carmody, Brown University and Chair, InCommon Technical Advisory Committee    
Chris Holmes, Baylor University, Policy and Legal Advisor    
Chris Spadanuda, Univeristy of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, InCommon Assurance Advisory Committee    
Von Welch, Indiana University Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research, representing research community    

InCommon Technical Advisory Committee

The InCommon Technical Advisory Committee provides recommendations relating to the operation and management of InCommon with respect to technical issues. See the TAC charter for more information.

Steven Carmody, Brown University – Chair
Tom Barton, University of Chicago
Scott Cantor, The Ohio State University
Janemarie Duh, Lafayette College
Michael Gettes, The Pennsylvania State University
Keith Hazelton, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Walter Hoehn, University of Memphis
Jim Jokl, University of Virginia
Kim Milford, REN-ISAC
Chris Misra, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
Tom Mitchell, GENI Project
Mark Scheible, MCNC
Albert Wu, UCLA

In Memoriam - RL "Bob" Morgan, University of Washington - The InCommon community wishes to express special acknowledgement to the life and work of RL "Bob" Morgan from the University of Washington, a leader of TAC until July 12, 2012, who gave so much of himself to creating the standards, policy and technology behind the InCommon Federation and charting our course for the future of identity in higher education. It was an honor to have him among us. He left us far too soon.

Other community members contributing to InCommon operations:
Scott Cantor, The Ohio State University
Walter Hoehn, University of Memphis
Ian Young, UK Federation

InCommon Assurance Advisory Committee

The Assurance Advisory Committee (AAC) is the oversight body of the InCommon Identity Assurance Program and advisory to the InCommon Steering Committee.

Chris Spadanuda, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (IdP) - Chair
Warren Anderson, LIGO (SP)
Brett Bieber, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (IdP)
Paul Caskey, InCommon/Internet2 (InCommon staff)
David Crotts, Virginia Tech (auditor)
Jacob Farmer, Indiana University (member at large)
Ted Hanss, University of Michigan (InCommon Steering)
Joanna Rojas, Duke University (auditor)

Ex-Officio (non-voting)
Tom Barton, University of Chicago (InCommon TAC)
Klara Jelinkova, Rice University (InCommon Steering)


InCommon is operated by Internet2 staff, who are responsible for the business, policy implementation, technical operations, identity verification, and support of InCommon and its federation participants.

Copyright 2004-2016 InCommon LLC. All rights reserved. InCommon is operated by Internet2.