Join InCommon

Simplfying Access to Scholarly Content

IAM Online - Wednesday, May 13 - 2 pm ET | 1 pm CT | Noon MT | 11 am PT

April 29, 2020

Making things simpler for students, faculty, staff, and researchers has become even more important over the last several weeks. But “simplifying” can mean different things to people in different roles on campus. And it may mean something different for the publishers of scholarly content, too.

A group with representation from librarians, publishers, and identerati came together to search for common ground. They looked at how federated access to scholarly content operates, and at the different language and focus used by the various stakeholder groups.

The May 13, 2020, IAM Online will highlight how different groups on campus are approaching support for users and how the scholarly communications industry is using federated technology like SeamlessAccess and GetFTR to enable access. 

The webinar takes place at 2 pm ET on Wednesday, May 13, 2020. Speakers include Lisa Hinchliffe, Professor/Coordinator for Information Literacy Services and Instruction in the University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and Ralph Youngen of the American Chemical Society, who focuses both on internal technology strategy and external partnerships for the benefit of ACS Publications and the broader research community.

Connection information is below.

IAM Rewind

IAM Online webinars are recorded and posted at the IAM Online YouTube Channel, a partnership between InCommon and GEANT, the pan-European network. Recent webinars include:

  • two sessions on passwordless authentication
  • lessons learned on two-factor authentication
  • moving IdM to the cloud
  • using containerized software to steamline operations

Connect live

IAM Online is held the second Wednesday of every month: 2 pm ET, 1 pm CT, Noon MT, and 11 am PT.