Join InCommon
online training image

National Institutes of Health and InCommon Community Leaders to Discuss MFA and Identity Requirements

Learn about the NIH requirements on IAM Online April 14

March 17, 2021

The April IAM Online webinar will feature a discussion of three issues related to federating with the National Institutes of Health:

  1. Research & Scholarship Attributes – While this has been an NIH requirement for more than a year, releasing three data elements (an identifier, the person’s name, and the person’s address) to Research & Scholarship service providers, including NIH applications, will ease the burden on faculty and researchers. Speakers will touch on why this is important and suggestions for implementation.
  1. Multi-factor authentication (MFA) – The NIH’s electronic Research Administration (eRA) module will require MFA by September 15. Faculty and researchers can use their federated home credentials to access eRA, provided the credential provider (typically a college or university) has enabled MFA. If you don’t support MFA – or if your federated login system doesn’t technically signal that support to NIH – your faculty and researchers will not be able to use their home credentials and single sign-on to access this important NIH service.
  1. Identity assurance and proofing – While there is no deadline set yet, NIH has signaled that some applications will require identity providers to demonstrate a certain level of identity proofing and assurance. The InCommon Assured Access Working Group will report on its work to develop guidance to help academic institutions implement the REFEDS Assurance Framework, which NIH has chosen  to support their identity-proofing and authentication requirements

Want to learn more? Do you have questions about these coming requirements? Are you curious about what else may be coming from the NIH? Experts from the NIH and InCommon will discuss these issues and answer your questions.

When: Wednesday, April 14, 2021 – 2 pm ET | 1 pm CT | Noon MT | 11 am PT

Presenters:

Jeff Erickson, National Institutes of Health
Brett Bieber, University of Nebraska
Tom Barton, University of Chicago and Internet2
….and others to be announced

For details on connecting, visit the IAM Online web page. You can also download this calendar invitation.